Talking to your boss about Medical Cannabis?

veritas629

Blooming
User ID
I've been at the same job for >10yrs years and there was no issue when I graduated from a Secret Stoner to a legal Medical User. There is nothing about my current job that requires a drug test and my bosses occasionally indulge themselves Thus, we follow the don't-ask-don't-tell policy and everything is cool.

However, I'm interviewing for a new job at the moment. Round 1 went well and I've got a couple follow up meetings. The job itself would not require a drug test, but I might need to eventually take a medical or drug test to go on client work sites. Example, spend a a few days on an offshore rig or commercial vessel.

I'm wondering how to handle this topic. I could say nothing and hope for the best. That could bite me in the arse down the line. I could bring it up now. But, that might become my Achilles Heel to getting the job if there are other qualified candidates.

How are the employed medical users on TSE handling this thorny topic?

Please join our community to continue reading

Forgot your password?
Don't have an account? Register now

Mellow oldfark

Trichome Enthusiast
User ID
My neighbour is FIFO and he's well payed, likes a choof but has to be very careful and doesn't do it very often.
I feel some people turn to less detectable drugs or run the detox drink after every roster.
As for medical canna that no one's business but you and your doctor.🤫

Orb

Curing
Community Member
User ID
mate see if u can find out about their policies first (their website, job review sites, recruiters etc) but if nothing there, personally I wouldn’t bring it up till you have an offer from them. that way at least u know they want you before raising what could be an issue and ur still being transparent

Indy

Misfit
User ID